Friday, May 22, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Susan Reid's "The Divinity Saga (Books 1 and 2)"

With summer approaching, it is a great time to catch up on reading (actually, any time of the year is a good time for that). It's also a good time to catch up on book reviews (I got a little busy there for a while).
For those of you that enjoy a good urban fantasy, here are the first two books in a series by author Susan Reid, called The Divinity Saga.

The synopsis on the back of the books are as follows:

The Gathering (Book 1)

"No one knows WHEN the world will end but how do you go on, when you’ve seen HOW it will end? If the dark ones don’t kill me first...I'll tell everyone."--- Starling Marie Roberts.

College Sophomore Starling Roberts is afraid of the dark because she has known this all her life.

The shadow beings are real and she can see them.

Plagued with nightmares of the invasion of Earth by the Dark fallen and ultimately Morning Star isn't an easy burden to carry, especially when the darkness is after you for the very thing that makes each one of us stand apart from them...our Divinity.

Starling is rare and unique.

Her past obstacles and devastations have wilted her own beliefs, leaving her to begin questioning her own purpose and faith.
But that begins to change when the dark shadows begin attacking her mentally...and physically.

Starling has been chosen, one of hundreds of thousands. But her rare divinity has placed her on the top most wanted list by the dark fallen and she has become the target of a planned catastrophic and deadly event gathered, controlled and led by Morning Star himself.

Star's only hope to remain alive and sane---Cam`ael, a renegade, dark fallen Incubus who lusts for her and Drakael—an Angel determined to keep her from him.

This is her Chronicle, pulled and put together from her own personal journals now known as The Book of Starling.

Combined with the journals of Cam`ael; Former Chief Angel of all Powers in his own words and at his own personal request.

Transendence (Book 2):

"I've already died once. For me, dying again-is not an option." Starling Marie Roberts, 3rd tier Divine Warrior. 
Starling doesn't remember how she died nor does she want to. Thankfully, all personal memories are erased once one becomes a divine warrior. Or are they? As if being late to rise wasn't attention drawing and confusing enough, automatically drawing suspicion in a realm that she had only seen glimpses of in her mortal life, surely didn't help. Quickly befriended by a group of welcoming, fellow warriors was an unexpected relief, but where there are large groups, there are always a few that aren't so enthused about the newcomers. Especially the unique ones who question everything. Being in the spirit realm was a lot to take in. It was both exciting and scary, and even more so...was discovering her essence. As far as being branded, she wouldn't have wished that experience on her worst enemy. Maybe. Though Camael has waited for her, he grows frustrated and impatient as the darkness in him begs to be fed. Camael knows that he and Starling will cross paths again. Realizing that she won't remember him, is the most painful of all. Knowing that she will kill him, is the risk he is willing to take to see her again. It doesn't help that Morning Star has been looking for ways to get even, ever since Cam'ael's battle with Drakael. He blames him for Starlings death. He needed to claim her while she was still mortal, not when she became an immortal force to be reckoned with. However, he still wants her- even more so now than before. A new, deadly demon is roaming the Earth, killing higher level fallen, and Camael is about to become his next target. What is forbidden, creates something that may ultimately bring about the invasion of darkness sooner than expected. What lies in darkness, will always come into the light.
These are kind of a tough books to review, only because there isn't much I can tell of in the plot without giving away spoilers. But what I can say is that both of these are page turners. Susan Reid definitely has a talent for building a world and well-rounded characters. My one critique would be that there were some editing issues (I'm also a book editor...I can't help it!). I think if these errors were cleaned up a bit, these books would be a 5 out of 5 star rating instead of a 4 star rating. Other than that, though, these books are excellent and I would recommend you add them to your reading list.

To pick up the books, check out
Susan Reid at Amazon

And for more info on the author, visit the following links:


Paperback copies of Descent (The Birthrite Series, #1) and Sacred Atonement:Novelette (The Birthrite Series, # 1.5) available together for the low price of $21.00 at my Official Website

My music projects are available at CDBaby
My filmwork is on IMDb

"The Birthrite Series" and other books at Smashwords and Barnes & Noble NOOK
 My books and music are also on Amazon and iTunes
Tiffany on Goodreads
Support great authors and independent bookstores at Smashwords and Indiebound

No comments:

Post a Comment